Jump to content



BFS Banner



  • Please log in to reply

Error after loggin in...

Started by bangurdead, Dec 03 2008 01:46 PM

#1 bangurdead

bangurdead

    Master Blaster

  • Donator
  • 1,181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa, USA
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 03 December 2008 - 01:46 PM

basically after I log in to BFS I've been greeted with this

Posted Image

Basically I'm forced to hit back till im into the log in screen and then hit the "blackfootstudios forum" link to view the forums...

#2 Whisper_44

Whisper_44

    Master Blaster

  • Moderator
  • 2,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.574632 / -111.855495
  • Platform:Console gamer

Posted 03 December 2008 - 02:44 PM

Check your shortcut, there's a double link in the url referenced in that image.. it might just be a bad save on the shortcut side?

I access directly to the forums using http://www.blackfoot...rums//index.php?

Just noting your location:
I'd like a Pork Tenderloin Sandwich (Mustard & Extra Pickles)  :drool:

#3 krise madsen

krise madsen

    Master Blaster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,734 posts
  • Location:Denmark
  • Platform:PC gamer

Posted 08 December 2008 - 06:30 AM

I got the same error (for the same reason: double URL, dunno why this happens). Just backtrack past the login page and you should be logged in.

Respectfully

krise madsen
"crisis" is my middle name...
------------------------------------------------

Hatchetforce said:

First John Wayne dies in 1979 and then 2 years later the Smurfs show up on NBC. It has been mostly downhill after that.
Posted Image

#4 bangurdead

bangurdead

    Master Blaster

  • Donator
  • 1,181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa, USA
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 08 December 2008 - 04:53 PM

I've deleted my cookies and my chache multiple times and it still happening afterwards...

and btw Whisper its not what I typed, its what the server is sending out... Its something recent thats changed on the server that is messing with the PHP code

#5 Aldous

Aldous

    BFS Thoracic Surgeon

  • Administrator
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Little Canadia
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 08 December 2008 - 06:58 PM

I cannot reproduce the error, but I have discovered another problem that may be closely related.

I'm investigating.

Edit:  It appears unrelated to the login error.  Again, I cannot diagnose and fix unless I can effectively reproduce the error.

Edit2:  I've encountered that error, but only once, and only using Opera.
Posted Image

XML is like violence. If it's not working, use more.


#6 Whisper_44

Whisper_44

    Master Blaster

  • Moderator
  • 2,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.574632 / -111.855495
  • Platform:Console gamer

Posted 08 December 2008 - 07:48 PM

I've tried 4 different browsers, IE7 & IE8(beta), Firefox 3 & Safari.. no dice, I cannot reproduce the error either

#7 Aldous

Aldous

    BFS Thoracic Surgeon

  • Administrator
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Little Canadia
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 08 December 2008 - 10:02 PM

I have managed to reproduce the error using IE7.  The login is successful, but the redirect breaks.  I'm investigating.
Posted Image

XML is like violence. If it's not working, use more.


#8 Aldous

Aldous

    BFS Thoracic Surgeon

  • Administrator
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Little Canadia
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 08 December 2008 - 10:13 PM

I believe I have a solid lead on what the issue was, and I cannot reproduce it further, so I believe it is resolved.  If it isn't, please let me know what make/version of browser you are using.
Posted Image

XML is like violence. If it's not working, use more.


#9 bangurdead

bangurdead

    Master Blaster

  • Donator
  • 1,181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa, USA
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:13 AM

happened just now Using

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.0; en-US; rv:1.9.0.4) Gecko/2008102920 Firefox/3.0.4

#10 Aldous

Aldous

    BFS Thoracic Surgeon

  • Administrator
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Little Canadia
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 10 December 2008 - 02:15 AM

Well, crap.

Thanks for the feedback. I'm really confused by this one, then.

Please have patience, and report it here every time it happens.  I need patterns to work with.

Thank you.

Edit:  I made some server side changes.  Please, and I know you have done this before, but blow out your cookies and cache again.  It's possible that the edits here are still reading old client data.  I hate to ask, but such is the nature of the interwebs.

Edit2:  Is it just the one browser?  Can you try with another?  I've tried five browsers, all under XP, and have seen this error once in one browser, and a few times in another.  This was before the file edits that I thought fixed the problem.  Also, are you using any browser extensions that may interfere with content, like AdBlock or NoScript?
Posted Image

XML is like violence. If it's not working, use more.


#11 bangurdead

bangurdead

    Master Blaster

  • Donator
  • 1,181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iowa, USA
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 10 December 2008 - 03:53 AM

I'll try and reproduce it with multiple browsers but so far it's happened to me on both an XP machine and Vista64bit in Firefox... so I'll try and do it some more

Edit: well it appears that Firefox is fixed (after sucessfully logging in and out nearly 20 times)...

though I was able to recreate it on

Internet Explorer 7
Version: 7.0.6001.18000 64-bit Edition
Cipher Strength: 256-bit


EDIT: It appears that the non-64bit version is not effected by the problem...

#12 WhiteKnight77

WhiteKnight77

    Master Blaster

  • Donator
  • 5,321 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Smyrna,GA
  • Platform:PC gamer

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:48 AM

View Postbangurdead, on Dec 10 2008, 04:53 AM, said:

Internet Explorer 7
Version: 7.0.6001.18000 64-bit Edition
Cipher Strength: 256-bit


EDIT: It appears that the non-64bit version is not effected by the problem...


A strong clue maybe? :hmm:
Posted Image
Posted Image
Supporter  GhostRecon.net | AGgReSsion

#13 Tactical Jerky

Tactical Jerky

    Master Blaster

  • Donator
  • 1,289 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 10 December 2008 - 11:50 AM

View PostWhiteKnight77, on Dec 10 2008, 06:48 PM, said:

A strong clue maybe? :hmm:

I'm using FF3 with Vista 64, but never had this error.

#14 SST_DaD_Mafia

SST_DaD_Mafia

    Wannabee

  • Donator
  • 10 posts
  • Platform:None Selected

Posted 13 December 2008 - 02:15 AM

Hey Bang, and any others. I too have the same problem, did some investigation and seems if I log in on the welcome guest (high one) it errors. If I log in on the low one (username with astericks) it does fine. Lemme know, hope this helps.

#15 Whisper_44

Whisper_44

    Master Blaster

  • Moderator
  • 2,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.574632 / -111.855495
  • Platform:Console gamer

Posted 17 January 2009 - 10:14 AM

Aldous, just happened again.. Clean XP Pro Install from Chrome, logging in for first time.

#16 zoog

zoog

    Master Blaster

  • Contributor
  • 2,597 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Platform:PC gamer

Posted 17 January 2009 - 10:27 AM

View PostTactical Jerky, on Dec 10 2008, 06:50 PM, said:

I'm using FF3 with Vista 64, but never had this error.
I'm using FF3 with XP 64, I never had this error either.
Posted Image

#17 Aldous

Aldous

    BFS Thoracic Surgeon

  • Administrator
  • 1,693 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Little Canadia
  • Platform:PC and Console gamer

Posted 17 January 2009 - 10:28 AM

View PostWhisper_44, on Jan 17 2009, 11:14 AM, said:

Aldous, just happened again.. Clean XP Pro Install from Chrome, logging in for first time.
It's a first time thing, like the cookie isn't being interpreted the first time it's created.  A head scratcher.
Posted Image

XML is like violence. If it's not working, use more.


#18 Whisper_44

Whisper_44

    Master Blaster

  • Moderator
  • 2,607 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:33.574632 / -111.855495
  • Platform:Console gamer

Posted 17 January 2009 - 10:35 AM

Just ran through IE 7 and used the login from the forum header (not the 'log in' link) and it worked as expected. :)

Stay warm buddy..

#19 zoog

zoog

    Master Blaster

  • Contributor
  • 2,597 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Platform:PC gamer

Posted 17 January 2009 - 01:15 PM

View PostAldous, on Jan 17 2009, 05:28 PM, said:

It's a first time thing, like the cookie isn't being interpreted the first time it's created.  A head scratcher.
Looks like it. I just tested on IE7 (which I never use), and clicked the "login" link (instead of logging in via the fields already visible on the main page). I too got redirected to: http://www.blackfoot...ios.com/forums/
Posted Image

#20 Dark Ranger

Dark Ranger

    Wannabee

  • Donator
  • 27 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:A Parallel Universe
  • Platform:PC gamer

Posted 17 January 2009 - 09:29 PM

I'll chime in here:

I can consistently replicate the issue using the following browsers:

Opera 9.63
Chrome 1.0.154.43
Firefox 3.0.5
IE 7.0.5730.13

Methodology:

- Clear full cache
- Close browser
- Open browser, navigate to BFS home page
- Click Community > Blackfoot Studios Forum
- Authenticate via the Log In link below the board header

Shows the "You are now logged in as...Please wait while we transfer you..." and then displays the 403.


System: XP Pro SP3 32-bit
Posted Image
Pointman|Recon : SOPMOD M4A1|Sensor Kit <>  Status: Retired




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users